1      The Association shall be called the Lourdes Medical Association

2      a ) The patronesses shall be Our Lady of Lourdes and St Bernadette b ) The Honorary president shall ordinarily be the Bishop of Tarbes and Lourdes c ) Honorary Vice-Presidents shall be elected from time to time in recognition of service to, or special relationship with, the Association.

3      AIMS The aims of the Association shall be to provide facilities for members to meet together for their own benefit and that of their sick pilgrims and to discuss medical, logistic and spiritual matters related to Lourdes.

4      MEMBERSHIP Membership shall be open to all past and present members of the International Lourdes Medical Association (I.M.A.L.) and the International Lourdes Pharmaceutical Association (I.P.A.L.) and the International Lourdes Dental Association (I.D.A.L.) and the International Lourdes Nursing Association and such people who are eligible to become members of these associations, including Allied Health Professions (AHP).

5      THE OFFICERS The Officers shall consist of a Chairman, a Vice- Chairman, a Secretary and a Treasurer.

6      COMMITTEE The Committee of the Association shall consist of the Officers and nine members.  Ex-officio members of the committee shall include the honorary chaplain and a Lourdes International Medical Committee (CMIL) representative, who has been invited, or whom they have nominated to represent the CMIL. The chair of the British Lourdes Nurses Association (BLNA) and a representative of Seirbhis (the Irish LMA) shall also be ex-officio, non-voting, members.  The Committee shall have the power to co-opt up to two persons in addition.

7      DUTIES OF THE COMMITTEE The Committee shall manage the affairs of the Association, including the provision of advice to members, and be responsible for arranging the Annual General Meeting (AGM) and conference.

8      ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND COMMITTEE   a ) The Officers and Committee shall be elected by ballot of members present at the AGM. The Chairman and Vice-chairman shall hold office for two years and shall not be eligible for re-election for a further two consecutive years to the same office. The Vice-chairman shall normally be the Chairman-elect for the ensuing two years; the immediate past Chairman shall be an ex-officio member for two years. Only existing Council members may normally be eligible for election to these posts.   b ) The Secretary and Treasure shall hold office for three years and be eligible for re-election for a further three years. c ) The Council members shall hold office for three years.  A Council member who fails to attend three consecutive Council meetings will be asked to demit.

9      CHAPLAIN The Committee shall invite a Chaplain who shall offer spiritual guidance to the Association. He shall be an Honorary member of the Association and an ex-officio member of the Committee and shall serve for three years, but can be re-appointed three yearly.

10   SECRETARY The Secretary shall conduct all correspondence and shall keep the minutes of the Association and Committee. He / she shall receive all monies due to the Association and make all payments, and shall keep an up to date list of all such receipts and payments. The Secretary shall keep an up to date list of registered members of the Association. The Treasurer and Secretary shall be authorized to draw cheques.

11   VACANCIES OF OFFICE The Committee shall temporarily fill for the current year any vacancies that may occur in any of the offices of the Association.

12   MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE The Committee shall meet at least twice a year. For any meeting six members, or one third of the current members, one of whom is an officer, shall form a quorum. The Committee shall appoint sub-committees as necessary and co-opt non – Committee members to sub-committees as is deemed desirable.

13   ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM)  An A.G.M. shall be held; at least two weeks before it a copy of the Agenda, minutes of the previous AGM and a list of proposals for Officers and Committee shall be forwarded to each member. Members may submit matters for consideration for inclusion to the Secretary before the date of the AGM.

14   EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING (EGM) Any eight members shall be entitled to call an EGM of the Association by informing the Secretary, in writing, of their reasons for calling one.

15   SUBSCRIPTIONS Subscriptions shall be decided at the AGM and shall be sufficient to cover administrative costs (stationery, postage secretarial assistance) and shall be due on the 1st January each year. Membership of the Association shall automatically lapse if no subscription is received for two consecutive years.

16   ALTERATION OF CONSTITUTION The Constitution shall not be altered or added to except at an AGM or EGM. Proposed alterations and additions must be received in writing by the Secretary before the meeting. No additions or alterations shall be made to the Constitution unless there is a two-thirds majority of those voting in favour at that meetingChanges to the Constitution, when passed at an AGM, should come into force immediately and be ratified the following year.



Latest revision passed at LMA AGM, 24 January 2015.